Matching Speed of Engines

I have an NCE PoweCab control. Just purchased two Kato SD40s at a show that had Digitrax DN163K1C Decoders installed. The seller said he had speed matched them but when I tested them in a consist (by not coupling them together), one engine was considerably faster than the other.

So my question is, how do I go about programming one of the engines to match the other? Looking at the NCE manual it isn't really clear to me. I am new to DCC so any advice would help.

Related to that, how close in speed is good enough? Do you ever get two engines to be equal? If not, do you stick the slightly slower engine in front or in back in a consist?

Thanks,
Bryan

Bryan, speed matchig a consist is much different than trying to get two locomotives to run at exactly the same speed when they are running light. Two identical engines can have different amounts of tractive effort dur to difference in gear meshing, lubrication, weight distribution, and about 100 other variables. When you're consisting two engines, you are trying to get them to run as a pair. The one with more tractive effort will go on the front and, in effect, "tow" the second engine. The second engine is still contributing some tractive effort to the consist, just not as much as the first.

First, check your manual for speed steps. See what each locomotive is set to by reading back the values. Run them separately and see how much time it takes for each to get to two given points. If one is faster than the other, go to CV 29 and try adjusting the variables there for start speed, max speed, mid speed, and acceleration. You'll have to experiment some but you should be able to get them running at about the same speed. You can now consist them and see if they work better. You may find that having the lead locomotive faster works better than trying to have them both run at the same speed.