banking of turns for very long trains?

mikeb2008

So, I put together my HO layout, and I'm a newbie to this, so bear with me... I find that pulling maybe 40 or so cars is a big problem. Not because the loco can't pull it, but because going around the turns, the "tug" of pulling all those cars tends to make them want to topple over to the INSIDE of the turn. What's rather funny (but not surprising I suppose, due to the forces involved) is that if you have plenty of speed, they are less likely to topple over. So this makes we wonder: Should the track be banked in the turns, to the OUTSIDE of the turn? (Which would be contrary to "common sense"). For those of you interested in seeing the layout in its very rough form now, I have a youtube video. It's really silly, but you can at least see the radiuses I am dealing with: youtube video

More than likely its the weight of the cars thats causing you problems. If the cars dont weigh enough, then they will fall over on the inside of the curves.:cool:

I agree w/ThoroughBreed. If you have lite weight cars in the middle of your train, then the heavy cars will start derailing the lite cars in the middle. I add weights to all my cars. The way I test a bunch of cars is backing them up & U will find all the underweight cars will derail even in a straight run.
I've tried banking turns just for looks, but always have trouble w/cars w/a high center of weight will topple over. Like flat car loads that are tall.

Larry

Good advice. Check the NMRA web site for the correct weight for cars of various types and lengths and make sure your cars weigh at least that much. It will help those long trains stay on the curves. BTW, real railroads do make banked turns, called superelevation, to help trains stay on the track on long curves but the curve is banked towards the inside of the curve, not the outside. Centrifugal force helps the train stay upright at speed.