Yet another Newbie

hamltnblue

Hello All
I'm pretty new to modeling and brand new to trying to do it right/good. I ran a dual track N-gauge setup for about a year on a 4x8 and recently decided to go HO. My eyesight just can't handle the N.

So far I have a blank slate with a sturdy 8 x 7 1/2 foot platform. I have a stack of 22" radius turns few turnouts of each direction, some 9" straights and also a bunch of flex track. There is also a 47 piece pier set that rises to 3". All is atlas. In addition I have 2 Woodland Scenics 2% grade kits along with a few boxes of riser. 2 rolls of grass mat is also in the pile.
I have 2 engines from broadway-limited with sound and DCC. One is a modern AC6000 with a pretty wide wheelbase and the other is a 4-8-2. The DCC is and NCE Procab.
So here I am staring at this blank slate with the above pile of stuff. I've been reading around and haven't come up with any good idea's yet. Just stumbled in here and have been reading abit. Any Idea's for a layout this size? Anything to get me started would help.

Thanks

Welcome to the forum! Don't be discouraged by the lack of replies. A lot of the guys are on here earlier in the day. I guess I would decide what your vision is first. What do you want out of a railroad? A member here has a link in his signature to an article he wrote. It covers the 'why' of building a layout before you figure out 'how'. He goes by spacemouse. If you go to the search fuction towards the top of the page, you can search by user name. Just type in Spacemouse to find a post by him, then click on the link.

You are on the right track with figuring out what you want before you build. Good luck!

Welcome aboard. You'll find Spacemouse's beginner's guide at http://www.chipengelmann.com/trains/Beginner/BeginnersGuide01.html. It's a good five minute read to give you some ideas.