Newbie here

jomazz

Hello to everyone. I've just gotten interested in this "sickness" again after more than 30 yrs. Things have really changed since then, what with dcc & different couplers & such. But I'm looking forward to all the great info & help that I see posted here. I have a bunch of old HO stuff, Lionel; Athearn; plasticville & all. Just ordered a brand new Bachman spectrum Illinois Central 4-8-2 dcc ready? loco. Payed $62 for it. Is that a good price? Anyway, glad to be here.

jpmazz. welcome back to our sickness!!! :) $62 sounds good for any engine these days, let alone a good ole Illinois Central!! Get a cup of coffee, pull up a chair and get comfortable. You won't find a more knowledgeable and friendly group of people.

Welcome, welcome, welcome! Yep, this is the best forum around and the most helpful. Just a really friendly and helpful bunch of people who love the hobby. $62 is an excellent price for that 4-8-2. I paid around $85 for the same loco in NYOW colors about a year or so ago.

Don't forget to stop in at the Coffee shop. Chop is buying breakfast today.... As long as you want scrambled eggs, that is!

Last edited by a moderator:
Another IC modeler. That's great! Where did you find a deal like that?

Jeff - also new here...back into model railroading after a 30 year absence.

Welcome aboard. You are now getting the flu, for which is there is no vaccination. :) That's a real good price for the 4-8-2 so you're already ahead. Indeed, things have changed a lot. I'm also building my first layout in 30 years.

You need to do a lot of reading, most of which can now be found on the web. Check out Spacemouse's Beginner's Guide as a start. You'll run into the term DCC a lot. It's Digital Command Control and it's rapidly replacing the old DC and powerpack methods of controlling trains. Just remember that you don't have to do everything at once and there are people here that will be happy to answer your questions as they come up.