New Here

Khonda714

Union Pacific All The Way
Hey all I just wanted to throw a first post. I am new here and I just wanted to say hello to everyone. This is my first time doing any model railroading. I have always loved it and wanted to do it but was slowed down by my racing and work. I have finally had some time to my self so I started but any ways I just wanted to say hello.

Hey there wheeler1963 Thanks!

I kind of have an idea I want to model the present day and I started in HO. I got a lot of people telling me at train shows to do HO scale so I just went with it and its been good to me. The only problem that I am facing is making a good turn radius with flex track.

Welcome, Khonda714. HO isn't a bad start, all things considered.

What difficulties are you experiencing with the flex track curves? There is a lot of help to offer here....fire away.

-Crandell

Welcome aboard. Do you have a first name we can call you? Makes it easier to remember than screen names.:) The first thing you should do is read Chip's (spacemouse) beginner guide at http://www.chipengelmann.com/trains/Beginner/BeginnersGuide01.html. It only takes five minutes but it will give you some good ideas and make you think of exactly what you want from your layout. As far as scale, don't decide on one scale and then make it fit the space you have. If you have tons of space, O scale might be better. A small space lends itself to N scale. Once you decide exactly how much space you have and what you want your railroad to do, that's the time to start considering scale.

Hey Crandell and Jim thanks for the advice and link. The trouble that I am having with the flex track is that at times I make the curve a little to sharp and a lot of my trains and cars cannot make the curve and come off the track it happens with my Dash-9 models.

Thanks!!

-Kevin