My locos are shorting out in several places

AllenB

Some background,...I have the Digitrax Zepher and I'm using feeders about every 4-5 feet. My mainline which is the only one I'm running now is about a 40-50 feet circuit. I'm a very beginner with the DCC stuff and electrics in general so bear with me. My problem is my locos seem to start and stop ALOT! I cleaned the track with those erasers and a VERY high grit sand paper in places. I'm running Athearn Genesis, Proto and a couple other locos and they all act pretty much the same. Turnouts (Atlas) seem to be an issue too although intermittently. Sometimes a loco will complete the circuit with no problems at all, then the next time around it'll start/stop several times. And when I say start/stop, I don't have to intervene, it just sputters so to speak. So, are there any tutorials out there about how to clean your wheels or how to maintain track to avoid all this nonsense? Any advice would be great.
Thanks!!!

Question #1) Are you using simple connectors on sectional track, or is your track soldered together?
A ton of problems can come from track connections simply not being good enough. Are there certain places the locos sputter, or is it random? If it is just certain places, I would recommend soldering the tracks together in those areas to help bolster the connection.

Question #2) As for the turnouts, they say that Atlas Snap switch turnouts are DCC friendly. I have found them to to be DCC "Genial" at best. The rails tend to come too close together and allow shorting on even some of the best spaced wheel sets.
Get yourself a NMRA Standards gauge and just check all your spacings to make sure everything it where it should be.

Sounds like dirty wheels might be your problem. Cleaning them isn't too difficult once you learn the technique.