Layout Advice

mbrunne

After about a dozen tries, here's one that seems to "have legs."

I'd appreciate any advice. I'm totally new at this. Is there something I'm missing that you veterans can see?

It's HO scale

1949-1959 era

The dimensions are as shown; the bottom is fully open, with a furnace a few feet away. I've got a minimum 1' walk around the whole layout. I'm fairly tall (6'-2"), so I think I can handle a 3' reach w/out a "doughnut" configuration.

I'm strictly following NMRA standards (S-6, S-7, S-8, RP-11, etc), w/ 24" R minimum & No. 6 turnouts. I have a few Walthers/Shinohara 6 1/2 curved turnouts also.

I'd like to get something in the size of a Berksire or Makado steam & +/- 50' diesels. From what I'm reading, the radii & turnout sizes should work w/ those two types. But will it work for smaller suburban passenger service? And what type of smaller passenger cars are available?

I'm not showing bridges, all the roads, structures, etc., but just enough to get some feedback.

Again, thank you for your advice.

Here's a screen shot:

If the design suits you and what you want out of your modelling experience at this point, I'd say it is fine. You will operate this from the center, I take it, so a reach to any one spot won't be a problem. Otherwise, you'll have a major problem when things go wrong just six inches beyond your finger nails.

If I had one glaring issue, it would be with the lengths of your staging or yard tracks that are butt-ended near the roundhouse. They are quite a bit too short to do much good for you. You should re-orient them anti-clockwise another 6-10 degrees, and extend them toward that curve off of which the throat comes. Also, at least one runaround capability should be built into those tracks so that on one track an engine that must lead in can escape.