help with turnouts

lokithorjls

newbie wanting to learn
why are my turn outs derailing. i am a newbie. did i buy to cheap? or install wrong. everyone else seems to get them to work.
HO scale 18 inch curve with the higher rail (code80? i think)if any of you good people can help me please do so. i am open to your expertise.
and if anyone lives near me i would sure like to get together. zip code 54960

You can start by pushing a few cars through the turnout to see if you can feel anything sticking or hanging. Also watch the wheels as they go through.
Also note if it is all cars derailing or just a couple. Sometimes a car is not heavy enough and can have problems. Then make sure that the turnout is switching fully and in the same direction. A car passing over a switched turnout while trying to go straight will often derail.
Last but not least take a close look and make sure nothing fell in between the tracks where they cross.
Good Luck

Depending on two main factors, your cars and their trucks and couplers, plus the quality and geometry of the turnouts, you could have problems in any one area or all three. Commercial turnouts compromise heavily to get most cars through them, and they suffer in operation quite a bit...oddly...as a result. Often their guards and wing rails are too far from their adjacent stock or frog rails. Your car trucks may be impeded when they try to swivel because of added details, plastic flashing, stuck whatever.... Also, your couplers may not be permitting enough side movement for the turnout you are using.

You should invest in a track gauge. It also has a wheel gauge that will allow you to verify that your wheels are spaced properly, plus placed properly, on their axles. If flanges don't line up from axle-to-axle, then one of the axles is likely to pick a frog point or something.