Haven't done this for years!

Cherish

Hi everybody! I'm a newbie at this. I was bored all winter and I got a bunch of used trains, some stuff from Ebay, and my vivid imagination got going. Going to set up in my big empty basement. i'm mechanical, artistic and did a couple models over the winter and I decided this would be the thing to do. I am disabled, retired and kind of broke, so i will be making stuff more than buying. Figured set up on the floor for now and just see what happens. If I stay with it, maybe tables? That will have to be later. I may be looking for some help at times and this looked like the place to be. Love motorcycles and steam engines. i drive a 194 Buffalo Steam Roller at a club I am a member of and i also do lots of volunteer work. My dogs are my best friend/companions and I live in the middle of nowhere. That's enough from me for now. Hope to be in touch with some of you at some point. Cheri

Thanks. Is there a particular book or magazine that is best for beginners? I've looked at several, but I'd rather someone recommend something. Some of the stuff I saw was a bit much. I don't want to get myself to the point that I quit. Cheri

In spite of the few people who want you to model railroad their way, it is a big and variable enough hobby to do it however you want. Personally, I like switching. Cars show up from somewhere, get put into a short train the short train delivers them to local industries and picks up previously delivered cars. The little train takes them back to the start and they go off to their destination. It is sort of how a real railroad does it.

If that is your thing, a small shelf with a couple tracks is enough to get started and can be easily added on to. I recently came across a YouTube channel called SoCal Scale Models. I like his simple laid back, make it work style. But again, explore and find what inspires your creativity. Then share some photos with us, please.