curve problem

F

f1_indy2000

I have a curve that is 24 degrees and has a little kink in it. I have a gauge and know where the problem is and have eyeballed it also and have marked where the problem occurs with a nail. Well what is going on is when I run my six axel engines their front wheels on the back trucks ride over the track and sorta derail. If I turn them around their back wheels jump the track. I'm not sure on how to how to solve this. I have attached a couple of visual aids that I hope are helpful if anyone who has experienced anything like this and would love a sugestion. In the picture of the rails themselves should I maybe shorten that outside rail so its more of a clean curve. And if I do any cutting which one would I want to shorten? Can I assume it would be the one that's nearlest to the nail(marker)? Just looking at it looks a little odd. That or do I need to move it right or left to get it to straighten out? Or should I just pull the track and put new track in its place? Thankfully I have extra flex track. Thanks guys

If it's practical to do so, I'd pull the track and replace it so the joints do not occur on a curve. Or, lift both pieces, solder the joiners and THEN lay it back down. Just getting the outer rail to completely butt against the other one may solve the problem as that will straighten the kink some.

Tim

I don't know about the sodering thing since I'm definalty no good at it. I am considering replacing the entire curve itself and then going from there. Thanks Tim

Try this 1st. If the rails aren't glued down(I hope) & nailed down(the best way), just remove the nails from that joint both ways about 12 to 18". While the track is loose, not from the joiners, push the track inward a little to straighten out that joint so the rails are lined up & not kinked. It won't hurt to have a tiny gap in the joint.
the only reason I'm telling you this, is to keep from tareing out the whole set of rails.
Try it & let me know.

Larry