Beginner Mistakes

EvoMan454

Train Noob
I am still a beginner, but have learned some things and am curious to know what were your mistakes you made when beginning the hobby?

My mistake was going out before reading anything and purchasing several hundred dollars of life like Power Loc track just to find out I would use Atlas code 83 track in the end. Now I am still disappointed that I did but I will get over it. Do you regret anything?

That I am impatient.

That I had to make so many mistakes that were preventable if I weren't so impatient.

That the preventable mistakes I made through my impatience cost me a whole layout and tons of EZ-Track.

That I built that first layout a year before we finished the basement...it meant a teardown. (Darn, eh...) :p

That I didn't take my time to finish the surface of my spline roadbed better. I rushed into track laying and have had hours of repairs to show for it.

Maybe it would be good to have a thread about what we don't regret.

buying that huge box of brass track at my first model meet. Damn those guys had a stupid grin on their face, I thought.

I was blown away by the deal I got.Till i got home and told a friend by email.

I think the biggest mistake is trying to model something real to scale size on your layout, unless you have a 50x50 foot room to work with, your layout will not be complete, you will only have a couple factories and a railroad yard, no housing,gas stations, schools etc....