Yard Design Feedback

Toyguy

As a little background, I'm completely new to the hobby and I am not particularly a railfan. I'm more interested in it from the modeling and technology side of things. I'm looking for something to occupy my mind and hands. I'm definitely going DCC and probably computer control with JMRI or something like it.

My intention is to model my local railroad, the Central Vermont, in that popular era between steam and diesel so I can run both. I have a room of about 10' x 20' that I'll be using and I want to go with an around the wall design with some walk-in peninsulas for more running room. I'm definitely interested in operations as well as in sometimes just setting trains running on autopilot and watching them go. Trains will generally be short, probably 5-7 cars, with the occasional longer one passing through.

The room design I am currently favoring is something like this:

RoomStyle.png

I'm leaning towards a couple helixes at the ends with an under-table runaround track that will allow trains to appear to leave and new ones enter. Staging will likely be under-table as well, with turnouts to and from the runaround track. I'm well aware all that may not fit and the plan may need some re-thinking :)

I started by reading about and working on a yard design for the main yard. There will also be small interchange yards at the ends to simulate connections from other roads. Here's a diagram of what I've come up with so far for the central yard, which will probably end up somewhere in the middle of the long 20' section. The Lead track will likely be extended into the module on its left, as it's currently too short, I think. Engine Service may extend to the module to the right to accomodate a small roundhouse and turntable in an area just right of the classification tracks. The diagram represents 2 modules of 2' x 4' so the yard is 8' long.