Thinking of the steam era....

SNE

Hi guys!! I've always been a modern modeler, I think that because being 38 I've never seen steam in person.
However I've always wanted to model a certain road (the never completed southern New England). in the early 40s war time. This is going to sound funny.... But I'm so clueless when it comes to steam!!! How reliable are n scale steam engines? I'm almost set on a track plan, theme with my 10 x 6 space, can someone give me a crash course on New England steam in the early 40's? Or at least point me in the right direction! Thanks!

Joe

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

N scale steamers are pretty reliable, but they are more finicky than diesels. Your track work has to be a little better with steamers. This is mostly due to the pilot wheels and trailing trucks ( the 4 and the 2 in a 4-6-2) which have little weight to them, so bounce off track fairly easily on any track imperfections. Sorry, I'm a western modeler, so eastern roads aren't my strong point, but I'm sure someone will jump in shortly with some good advice.

Most conventional off the shelf steam locomotive's would probably be appropriate. The Southern New England was chartered as an extension of the Grand Trunk. I would start with their roster.

I model all time spans from 1800s (think wild west) to today. I have 2 fav steamers. One is the cab-forward (intermountain) and more recent Bachmann 1225,a 2-8-4. I did say I include modern, such as French TGV (Kato) and several generations of Bullet trains. The 2 mentioned steamers both have DCC w/ SOUND, so does my N&W J-class. The Bachmann 2-8-4 has sound that defies what one would expect, It is my favorite for a sound loco. (I have the Piere Marquette 1225)

I have several old trix steamers that still run great.

One advantage of OWNING your own railroad is YOU make all the rules.