sealing chalk?????

Mixerdriver

Im new to this weathering thing. I got some chalk and am trying that, my ? is what do I use to seal it on the structure or train. I used dulcoat today it looks ok. Any suggestions on weathering is reallly needed. :( This aint as easy as it looks. But is a lot of fun trying different things.

Last edited by a moderator:
Maybe I am very much in the minority, but I just leave mine. I don't handle the equipment very much and if it rubs off, I just add a bit more.

Easy.

If he piece isn't going to handled then just leaving it alone as suggested works fine. For things like locomotives and rolling stock, sealing the chalk with dullcote generally works fine. I suspect that the weathering didn't look quite right after the dullcote dried. That's normal, since the dullcote removes some of the color from the chalk. You have to get used to weathering the model about twice as much as what you want the finished model to look like and then it will look correct when sealed.

Hi, weathering is a slow tedious job. But the end results are rewarding. Typically you weather in layers, and yes the dullcote will remove some of that powder. You need to keep laying down the powder and seal it. This will eventually turn into the look you are looking for. Also adding black wash and highlites will bring the detail out. It takes sometime, you cannot learn this overnight, if you think you can, you will be dicouraged.:eek:

If you choose not to dullcote the finish, you'll get finger prints all over the piece that you worked on. And you do not want that.:(

Good luck!;)

I'd look into getting some weathering powders. They stick better than the chalks. You can get them from AIM, Bragdon, Doc O'Briens and some other companies.

Dullcoat the model before you start to gave a better surface for the chalks to stick to. Rather than doing one heavy layer to compensate for the chalk coming off while dullcoating, use several layers to build up the effect.