revisiting my childhood

blue92rs

Cheaper than therapy!
Hello, I am new to the site and I have always loved model railroading. When I was 13 years old, I started collecting HO pieces to build a setup. Two years later we moved, then moved again. Everything was packed into boxes where it has stayed for the past 22 years... My son is two now and LOVES "choo choos" so I decided to pull everything out. To my delight, (and his:D) the Bachmann Reading 2000 steam locomotive ran (with some coaxing) but is VERY noisy. Especially at higher speed, almost a highpitched, grating, whine. I suppose it needs a good cleaning. I have it apart, but not sure where to go from here. What kind of cleaners should I use? Methods? Tools? I am a certified 12volt electrician and have a very good understanding of electronics, wiring, and high-end audio systems. I just need a point in the right direction. :) What is a good book for maintainence and repair? Is it possible to obtain parts for the Bachmann? The cab roof is missing :( I also have two diesel locomotives, a Santa Fe by Tyco which just sits there and smokes :eek: and a white and red Soo Line (do not know who made it) which goes nicely. Thankyou in advance. I am very excited about being here!

If the locos have been stood for 20 plus years, they,ll probably need oiling,with very light oil. I,m sure if you search this site, you,ll find oiling tips from some of the other guys.
Ron