non-creative newbie needs help!

I'm new to the forum (hey fella's) and a COMPLETE NEWBIE to model trains. I just bought an "O" scale MTH for my soon-to-be 8 year old step son ("O" scale because of the chuffing smoke and cool sound system). When we arn't playing with it I want to slide it under his bed so I have limited space to work with. The plywood will be about 75" X 43" MAX with a max height of 12.5", the MTH train set "out-of-the-box" is a 51" X 31" oval layout so I'll be extending each side by 20" to give it some more range. As the title states...I am a completely non-creative type person but I would like to fill the layout with as much scenery as I can afford AND have it make sense. It's a steam freight train so I would like it to resemble some sort of freight yard. I have looked at several books with layouts and I can't seem to get a picture of a layout that I want to emulate. Does anyone have any full pictures of small freight yard layouts that I can get some ideas from? Thanks in advance for your help.:)

What a fantastic reason to get into trains. Hmm I have some insight about being non-creative, looking at a picture to recreate it is about as creative as paint by number. Take it slow and things will come together.

Oh yeah, Youtube is a great source of quick video's just search model trains. I have had great fun with the son watching trains on youtube.

Does this set use the MTH "RealTrax" track, the kind that's already built on a roadbed? Have you priced MTH switches? The switch and track for just one siding is about $75. A small four track yard would run you well over $200. Realistically, you're not going to have the space for even a small yard anyway. Check out the track plans at http://www.thortrains.net/trackplan/minimth1.html. I think one of these would be more realistic for the space you have available.