Newbie layout

mecam

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to model railroads and here is my current layout that is about 80% complete on a 4x8 isulation board. I'm running four DCC engines including a Bachmann "Thomas the Train" converted to DCC using a Dynamis Controller.

I'm using E-Z tracks and will glue the track once the layout is proven reliable. So far everything is running smooth and just need to add the four switches and the center section. The Blue and Red sections are elevated at 2.5%grade to 4" high at the intersection. I will take real photos once completed.

eztracklayout.jpg

I count five turnouts. It also look forward to imagery showing how you populate the layout with people, scenery, structures, and such.

I count five turnouts. It also look forward to imagery showing how you populate the layout with people, scenery, structures, and such.

My bad, I actually have a manual turnout but I'll probably get the fifth one also so they are all DCC. They are just so expensive. I'm not that great of a modeller so my scenery, stuctures will probably not look real life. I just love watching the trains run. If I get really serious, I will build a permanent layout in the garage.

I'm working on a similar layout and got some feedback from this board. I'll share it with you because it helped me a lot. If you trace your way around the layout (counterclockwise), as long as you stay on the outer loops, you're fine. Once you get on the inner loop, there's no way out without backing up. You may want to add a crossover at the top of the dog bone.

Your layout, I don't know how you plan to run it or how long your trains will be, but backing out of a loop around a 180deg curve would be a challenge.

Doug

I run my trains clockwise. I designed the switches to where the trains requires to backup to get inside. The interloop I added is mainly for my boy's Thomas train to run by itself.

BTW, what is the proper way of running the trains in an oval, clockwise or counter clockwise?