New to weathering

Hey guys,

As the title says, I'm new to weathering and will be trying it out here in a couple days for the first time. Just have a couple questions for you weathering guys out there. First off when fading the car, do you fade the car first then apply rust, grim etc or apply rust, grim etc then fade the car? Also how I was going to approach this was, I was going to use white acrylic paint mixed with water for the fade mix, then rust, and grim and that would be chalks. Is this a good way to start or do it all in acrylic paint? Any tips or tricks from you seasoned pros would be great.

Chad

Chad:

If you are just starting out weathering rolling stock, I would suggest buying some inexpensive, used cars at a local hobby shop, EBay or a swap meet to practice on before attempting weathering your equipment. Look for engine shells to practice on as well. This will give you an opportunity to try different methods, paints, fading methods and chalks. Mistakes can be tossed.

A couple of tips:

Check the internet for weathering videos. There are several excellent guys out there that provide weathering tips.

Check this forum for photos of rolling stock that has been weathered.

Use DullCote spray on the equipment to dull the finish and provide a surface for the weathering to stick.

Fade the car first.

Black washes or air brushing work great on darker colors or use a THIN wash of the color close to the basic color of the car.

Keep weathering light at first....Don't over do it!

Don't forget to weather the bottom of the cars and couplers.

OMRO Junk Yard.JPG

Notice the slight weathering to the flat car and heavier weathering on the old cab.

Thanks.

Greg

Chad:

Watched your recent video and I would add a passing siding next to the main to increase operation possibilities.

My 2 cents worth.

Greg

Chad,