Making grades

stlgevo51

N scale modeler
Hi all, I'm new to the model railroad forums, but I've been over at railroad forums for almost 2 months. I am planning to build a 6 by 8 layout in n scale. It's my first layout and the table is already built. I want to make grades and I know Woodland Scenics makes foam risers. But I believe the minimum grade is 2 percent. I want my grades to be 1 percent at the max. Is there any other foam risers? I might just have to make my own grades, which would be hard on a first layout. Help would be appreciated.

I'm not sure what the Woodland Scenics risers are made of, but could you just cut them down to what you want them to be?

How much run do you have and how much do you have to rise? The WS 2% risers are calculated on a 16 foot run. If you have more run or less rise, you can use the incline starter sets to increase the run of your grade and decrease the percentage grade.

I have used the WS risers. They are easy to use when you have them in the grade you want. Cutting them to make another grade would not be easy. Might as well buy foam board and just try to cut it to the grade you want. I did not have much luck cutting foam into the grades I needed. It's a very long shallow cut.

The next time I plan on creating any grades, I think I will just use some 1/8" thick hardboard or luan ply cut to the width I need and just support it with scraps of foam every few inches. If I wanted a constant 1% grade, I could easily do that for 8' with a strip from a sheet of plywood. I think the 1/8" material would be easy to bend to accomodate a smooth transition from the flat part to the slope and then back again at the other end.

I use foam board and a hot wire foam cutter to trim the foam out. it gives you a ferm road bed and you can make the grade as you go along. the transition is the most important part so focus at those ends.

Trent