Greetings from Virginia

I'm new to the hobby, I started a 4X8 custom layout last year (and then abandoned it for a year) and now I'm getting back into it, I really enjoy making customer scenery and messing with lighting and the like. I run HO scale and don't know much about how things go together, I'm 28 and married my wife enjoys painting so she is a big help. I mostly work on this when work is slow.

Nick

Welcome to the forums, Nick. This is the best and friendliest site on the internet for model railroading. Do web searches to get answers to your questions and ask here if you can't get answers or need clarification on topics. There's a lot of folks here that can help you out.

One resource for info that another member pointed out to another beginner is Model Railroad Hobbyist Magazine. http://model-railroad-hobbyist.com/magazine It's free and has a lot of info to help you get started. I found it last spring and read it every time a new issue comes out. Like I said, it's free and you don't have to drive anywhere or walk out to the mailbox in the rain or snow to get it.

What more could you ask for?:p

Welcome back to the hobby. You might check out the train show that will be the first weekend of Feb up in Timonium, MD. on the north side of Baltimore. Plenty of stuff to buy and operating layouts.

Do they have any coming up at the Dules expo center. I try and not drive up to Timonium if I can avoid it. (I drive over 70k miles a year)

Jim are you in Nova?

I live in Sterling, and work in Reston. I have close friends in the Warrenton area, so I'm fairly familiar with your area as well. If you see any old late 60's to early 70's Mopar muscle cars roaming the streets of Warrenton, the drivers are probably friends of mine.