DPM Kits N scale

plasticman

Hi, I was looking at the DPM N scale model kits. They look good and with the atractive price. Does anyone have any opinions on these kits?? Pros - Cons?

they are a pretty good kit. their kits are a little hard to keep square. have never been in n scale only ho and the thought of painting something that small.. wow.... i don't see how n scalers do it.

hey mike, thanks for the response. I agree with painting the n scale buildings. (very small) I have been a 1/35th scale model builder for a few years and I thought they (1/35th) were small. Geez, what the heck am I thinking?!?! LOL :confused: :eek:

Take care my friend...

That IS the major downside to the DPM kits...the painting. There's no way to use them "out-of-the-box" . If you have the patience to do the painting, they have a nice selection of kits at attractive prices, and they lend themselves well to kitbashing. They are easy to build (except the painting) and you can buy interiors for a lot of the kits. Bottom line is that if you want to build it and put it right on the layout, they aren't a good choice.....If you like painting and detailing and weathering, then they make nice buildings on your layout.

I like them a lot. I've used them exclusively for my downtown (The gray building, the start of Wonka's factory (not to sclale) is a Walther's as well as the Fuel depot) on my current layout project. They are fairly easy to build, but, be sure to check square. You're just butting up flat surfaces in them, so, if your'e not careful, they can get out of whack. I like detailing work (Still have a lot to do on them) but, as you can see, you can still hold the brick detail pretty well with them. Of brick building models, these have been my favorite to put together and detail. They have a pretty solid feel to them after completed. Not something you can say about a lot of N scale stuff.