Bachmann, NCE, Digitrax

MikeL

I'm new to DCC, and using my 4-year old son as an excuse to play....

I'm trying to decide on whether to expand my new Bachmann EZ-Command DCC controller, or buy a new:

* Bachmann Dynamis
* NCE SuperCab
* Digitrax starter system (forget the name)

I've heard good and bad about all options. Right now, we only have a 4 x 8 foot plywood board so our setup is small. We'll need to run non-DCC stuff for my son - Thomas, Shrek, etc - but also DCC stuff for me - not necessarily at the same time. We will have many DCC turnouts - more than the EZ-Command will handle, so that's why I need to decide on the next step.

I know this is a big can of worms, but I'd be grateful for thoughts, suggestions, pros, cons, etc.

Thanks!

for a home layout the NCE or a MRC are very simple to use and understand.both cost around the same and can do many of the same tasks. you wont have to keep your manal handy for these systems. after a few hours its all common sence to use them

NCE can be computer interfaced for JMRI DCC reprograming and saving decoder data, MRC has its own computer systen that only works with MRC..this IMO is one of its major downfalls or MRC.

Digitrax seams to be the norm for larger clubs and will have the options for all the bells and whistles but I really dont like how difficult it is to do simple tasks. IMO its like trying to program an old VCR always having to look in the manual to do simple things. Digitraxx will do everthing under the sun but at a price of fully understanding all its difficult steps to get you there.its basicly a system built by comptuer nerds LOL

bachmann never used so cant comment.

If you dont plan to join a club dont plan to expand much more and are on a budget stay with the bachmann

if you want an upgrade the MRC is perfect

want to upgrade a little more from what MRC has? use the NCE

Digitraxx....no thanks

just my .02 from experince with these systems