Search results

1. R

Is Interest In Model Railroading Dwindling?

as a complete newbie, cost is a major factor. Any decent line is gonna cost at least $250, DCC to start is $200, Locos are $60 up not counting encoders. But that has been covered. To me, one of the most discouraging things is the "Taking reservations". "Sold Out" and freight being turned...
  2. R

SCARM - Simple Computer Aided Railway Modeller

Mixy, got an idea. Called a Radius calculator. In your 'flex track" dialog box of Tool Box, if you could have in input for "degrees" and have it calculate the length of the track off of the degrees and radius and insert it, it sure would be handy. Pretty simple calculation. I've built a...
  3. R

Layout "theory"

Thanks for all the input. I've been working on a dogbone I think I could live with. A lot of straight track tho. Two roads that go round and round(four tracks) and a thru yard sure gets a 2 foot wide section pretty crowded, but I think I might be able to live with this one. Appreciate the help.
  4. R

Layout "theory"

Everything I heard or read suggested about a 2' maximum for reaching over and 2 X 4 just seems to be geometrically right. I can buy quarter sheets of thin plywood, the 1 bys come in 8' lengths(cut em in half). I don't like handling full sheets of plywood anymore. I guess it was the info I had...
  5. R

Layout "theory"

cayuma, it'll be open on two and a half sides, so maybe can reach everything from there.
  6. R

Layout "theory"

Larry thanks for the info. Selector, I am building 2foot X 4 foot benches, not using 2 X 4's. Using 1X4 material also. I've got a 3D rendering of my layout "hopes", but don't have it on the web so can't post it. Thanks for the comments
  7. R

Layout "theory"