Help Me Plan My Layout

ModelRailroadForums.com is a free Model Railroad Discussion Forum and photo gallery. We cover all scales and sizes of model railroads. Whether you're a master model railroader or just getting started, you'll find something of interest here.

gjohnston

Slow Learner
Hi All,

I am new to the hobby. I bought a second hand layout last December, the Atlas plan of the Great Eastern Trunk Railway. I got hooked and decided to build a real Rail Road in the basement. It is currently unfinished but not for long. The drywall and other materials were purchased today, and work began this afternoon. A number of members on this forum helped me plan a benchwork plan to fit the basement. Now I am asking for some input on track placement and other features that would work in the space provided.

Can you give me some input on general track and feature placement options or concepts that would work on the layout below? All ideas welcome!!!

Givens: Room size 23' long by 12 feet wide, basement space, HO scale, Room is empty save for book shelves on south wall.

Druthers:
Pacific Northwest theme Great Northern Railway, Steam, Diesel, Freight, Passenger
Not picky about the era
I would like to run a continuous main line from one peninsula and back
Possibly a mountain on the left peninsula with an over and under bridge crossing
A switching yard along the wall at the top of the layout
A loco turn table and round house somewhere
Minimum 30" radius on main line

In general where should I place the main line track?
Can you recommend yard configuration that would work along the wall at the top of the layout?
Where should I put the loco turn table and round house?
What track or other features would be cool on this layout?
Clarification: The object on the peninsula on the right is a scenic divider which may or may not be used in the layout.

Thanks much,

Greg

Benchwork 3.jpg

tootnkumin

Staff member