XTrackCAD - Anybody here use it?

NScaler

Engineer in Training
I just downloaded this software yesterday when I saw that you could test run trains on it. Really cool software. Anybody else use it that might have some designs to share?

I use it all the time. Click on the link to my homepage and you'll see my layout, that I used Xtrackcad to draw it with.

I've been using XtrkCad for the past 6 years and I'm quite happy with it. The price is right, too!:cool: I doesn't do 3-D renditions but I don't have any need for those. The virtual operations feature allowed me to figure out what mix of trains could be run during a 2-hour op session with 3 operators or "crews".

Here is a marked-up version of my current layout's track plan. It measures 23'x23', so the lettering is a bit hard to see on a single web page. At the bottom you can barely make out the "Drawn by XtrkCad" signature.

CLW_Sub_CSX_6b_sm-3.gif

Last edited by a moderator:
That's a great looking track plan, Ken.

I'd like to figure out how to use XTrackCAD easily. I found the learning curve for it too steep. :(

That's a great looking track plan, Ken.

I'd like to figure out how to use XTrackCAD easily. I found the learning curve for it too steep. :(

Erik,

I found that the best way to learn how to use XtrackCad was to go to "Help", and follow the "Demos". To be honest, after following the demos, it took me just 20 minutes to "have the light come on", and start working with the program easily. There are also several on-line tutorials that you can follow as well. Do a search on Xtrackcad Tutorials.

Thanks, Ken and Carey -- I will make a note of those, although since I now have the plan pretty well worked out and I'm translating it into 1:1 scale on the actual benchwork, it's pretty much academic at this point. But I do want to learn that program anyhow, so those information sites are much appreciated.

Erik,