Very basic questions on clubs

G'day all.......In my home state of Tasmania ,population a bit over half a million , here in Australia we have maybe three model rail clubs and only in the two biggest cities and two train shows a year...The Hobart ModelTrain Show in August and most years , not this one it seems , the St Albies Hall one in Launceston..in late June , about now..every so often they miss a year..I live in a rural town of about 1000 people and know of four or five other local model rail enthusiasts within about 50 kms (30 miles) or so...Would that be enough to spark the idea of a local club ? I suppose a decent secure premises that doesn't cost a lot to lease is essential and all that but never ever even visited a model rail club , how do you structure and set up the very basics of a club...As I work as an ancillary staff member at our local High School..I'd bet that in regard to young'uns..there'd be a few keen to get involved in this amazing hobby so do you think that having an organised group that way first might be worth a try..RE Infrastructure to a proper club ie track and basic equipment is that a loan method or donated or come from fundraising and owned by all.? How a typical club is structured would be fascinating to know...Cheers Rod...

Last edited by a moderator:
Your club structure can be as complex or easy as you want it to be.
If you have a facility with a layout already built, you want to protect it from people just wandering, joining, getting access with a key then taking all your stuff.
If you don't have the resources for a club layout, consider a club that meets at the various members homes. Conduct your meeting then run trains.
You could make it a modular club and set up in libraries, malls or other places to promote the hobby and draw membership.
You can do a buy in by new members with an initial dues. Consider club shirts for when you are operating at a show, so viewers can identify members.
A club is whatever ya want to make of it.