Tortoise and LEDs

402drvr

Hi folks,

Another newbie qqestion. I am planning on installing three tortoise switch machines on the layout. What I would like is that when the switches are in the mainline position a green LED on my control panel will illuminate and when the switch is in the turnout position an LED will illuminate red on my control panel. I'm no electrical expert so what kind of leds do I need? What will operate off of DC power as that is what runs to the machine.

Also, I know yo can get model signals for the layout which actually work. Do these also run off DC power and could the just be piggy backed onto my control panel LED connections? allowing my control panel to mirror my layout signals?

Thanks

This link should give you everything you need to know. I would write a bunch of stuff, but this article has it all and has been featured in one of the MR magazines.
http://www.moreleds.com/turnoutwiring.pdf

Yes, the various signals that can be purchased use the same LED's you are interested in for your control panel and can be paralleled with your control panel LED's. Most are setup with resistors supplied for 12 VDC operation. Just don't mix LED's with incandescent light bulbs. ;)

Last edited by a moderator:
Are you running DCC or DC control?
LED's of course are DC as are the torti's
The wiring will be different depending on how you control them.
I just finished wiring DCC using an NCE switch 8. When using those or similar Digitrax controllers you simply put the LED's in series with the motor. When running off of straight DC you have to use a dropping resistor.

Thanks for the info. I am running C for now but will be going DCC in the next few months. I believe that for simplicity I will keep the switch machines and any associated lights on DC. SO it loojs like I can wire these LEDs off a power supply and simply use a dropping resistor between my power supply and the LED itself. I am still learning this electrical stuff.