Seneca Ridge MS Afters School Train and RC Club

burakol

HI -

I am teacher and I am new to the hobby. Due to persistent demand from my students, I agreed to sponsor an after school train and r/c club. So far, we have not started the train part since we are still enjoying being outdoors running some of the few r/c's we have. Now that it is starting to get cold again, we will soon be starting on our train build. We are in the process of coming up with a foldable train table and we will initially start with a 4x8 size layout. We are hopeful that once our admin appreciate the work of the students, they may eventually spare us a "train" room in one of our unused outside cottages.

I will post some pictures documenting our progress, as well as the materials we currently have. Pretty much most of the stuff we have were acquired by yours truly, and a few have been donated by our very own Logandsawman. Just yesterday a former hobbyist sold me a vintage Athearn F7 Santa Fe that came with a dummy, passenger car and and observation car for an unbelievable price.

Unfortunately, our school is not funding any of our expenses and our PTO has not pledged any support. Nevertheless, we are optimistic that we can do a great job with what we have. My wife has been very supportive but I know I have to be cautious not to go overboard in spending our own funds.

Watch out for more...

Last edited by a moderator:
Very happy to hear that this is getting off the ground! Be sure to keep all of us up to date on your progress!!

Certainly will... And please, any comments and/or suggestion on how to make the club more successful is always appreciated!