Scratch build design process

Red Oak & Western

Its been quite a while since I've started one of these threads, so here goes.

I've decided its time to build a Car Barn (if you've looked at my profile, you'll see that I'm a traction/trolley modeler).

After looking at a lot of prototype photos, I settled on these 3.

Carbarn1.jpg

Carbarn2.jpg

Carbarn3.jpg

I'll be blending features of each into my model. I'll be designing it in Alibre (a CAD program), solely because a) I have it and b) I'm familiar with it. The design could just as easily be done in SketchUp or any other CAD program.

The design parameters are as follows:

Interior length, designed to comfortably fit 2 PCC cars front to back: 110 ft.
Interior width, designed for 8 tracks to hold a total of 16 cars: 118 ft.

There will be 4 sets of double doors. I haven't yet decided if I'm going to do full width doors or bi-fold doors. If I decide to automate the doors, I'll do full width. I'm too lazy to do the work required to automate bi-fold doors. While I haven't found any information that any prototype car barns had automatic doors, I get to fall back on the "It's my world, I'll do what I want" rule. They may not have done it, BUT THEY COULD HAVE. The doors will be 18 feet high, the width determined by the track spacing, currently 9 feet each door.

There will be an operations / ticket office attached to one side.

I still need to decide on wood or brick – I love working with wood, but brick was the material of choice. I need to buy some various brick sheets to play with. Or hand carve some brick masters and cast the walls in hydrocal. I'll be using commercial details (windows, roof vents, etc.)

From this starting point, I'll begin creating the elevations in CAD. I'll post next when I have 1 or more elevations done.