Round House or no round house?

ModelRailroadForums.com is a free Model Railroad Discussion Forum and photo gallery. We cover all scales and sizes of model railroads. Whether you're a master model railroader or just getting started, you'll find something of interest here.

Hotbox

Hey folks,

I'm fairly new to railroading and building an n scale layout, current period, coal mining, coal trains. CSX, Norfolk Southern and a few BNSF diesel locos. I like to look of a roundhouse but I have also seen something that looks similar I think called a "transfer table," where the the transfer track slides left or right to different tracks.

Here's the question, are round houses still current or would the "transfer table" be more correct as far as modeling in the current period.

Any suggestions or photos would be a great help.

Thanks,

Hotbox :confused:

I model in HO scale, The transfer table is more modern as I have mine connected to a diesel repair facility.
zuvamyhy.jpg
6evazeju.jpg
yzadynuq.jpg

I also have a roundhouse and turntable but I use it for my steam era engines. It's up to you really but I would recommend the transfer table/pit for modern engines.

uhuzajez.jpg
9uqa6yse.jpg
uvy9a8er.jpg

I also have a smaller engine house at the end of my transfer table lines

5y4u2a7e.jpg
unyjajab.jpg

Hope this helps give you some ideas...personally I enjoy the roundhouse turntable if I had to pick just one

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bnsf971

Gomez Addams
Staff member
I have three switches going to my three stall engine house/backshop. There is a fuel and sand rack out front, and it doesn't take much scrutinizing to see where the turntable was filled in, and the roundhouse razed, to make room for the modern facilities. Doing this shows history of the space modeled, and saves $$$ I would have had to spend on a transfer table.