Question about rerailers and track bed

dSLR

I'm new to model trains and recently started building an HO layout on plywood; the track is Atlas HO code 100. I haven't tacked down the track yet, but I noticed when I was messing around with the locomotive today that it sounded like it wasn't running as smooth as it should. The total layout is a small oval, roughly 36" x 52". Also at one particular section of the track, it derailed twice. In all fairness, I also noticed that the rail joiners were moving around a little, I think because the track wasn't nailed down.

A couple questions:

(a) Will nailing down the track to my board make the train run a little smoother because there is less likelihood that the rail joiners will move?

(b) Do I need a rerailer? I noticed that these are pretty inexpensive on Atlas' website, and I presume that my local shop will carry these (hopefully anyway).

(c) I know there's a lot of mixed opinions on trackbed. Besides making the train quieter, will trackbed make the train ride any smoother than if the track were just nailed down to the board? I'm leaning toward the Woodland Scenics trackbed roll.

Thanks for any feedback. I appreciate it!

-Pat

I'm new to model trains and recently started building an HO layout on plywood; the track is Atlas HO code 100. I haven't tacked down the track yet, but I noticed when I was messing around with the locomotive today that it sounded like it wasn't running as smooth as it should. The total layout is a small oval, roughly 36" x 52". Also at one particular section of the track, it derailed twice. In all fairness, I also noticed that the rail joiners were moving around a little, I think because the track wasn't nailed down.

A couple questions:

(a) Will nailing down the track to my board make the train run a little smoother because there is less likelihood that the rail joiners will move?
Probably.