Programming w/o a programming track with other locos removed?

videobruce

Tower Operator
I know it can be done (sort of), but this has to do with an existing older layout that has three power blocks, but no programming track. This isn't mine, I'm tiring to help out a fellow MRR that isn't familiar with DCC. The layout is kinda large, it's HO scale in his basement. He has Digitrax system and his locos are 20 or so years old (Proto 2000, Broadway Limited & Life Like) , originally equipped with DCC decoders, if any of that matters. Most of his power AFAIK were never programmed or are programed wrong.

If all the locos are removed from one power block segment (assuming both rails are gapped), would that be ok to program a DCC equipped loco?

Lastly, I have little experience with DCC, the above is assuming that will change shortly.
redface.png

Only if the power is switched off to all the other blocks except the block the locomotive you want to program is sitting on, then you can program that single locomotive. The DCC programing "signals" will be sent to all track blocks connected to the DCC system unless the blocks are not powered.

Many layouts use a single dead end spur that can be isolated...is a common way to do programming on a track dedicated to programming. A double pole toggle switch is used to power either the layout or programming track with DCC signals. The toggle switch in one position one way powers the programming track and thrown to the opposite position powers the layout.

Greg

The short answer is yes.