Please help the Newb.

only_in_a_yj

I don't even know where I should start. I've got alot of HO scale stuff and some O scale Lionel stuff. I like the O guage better, but the size and price are too limiting. As for the HO stuff, I'm not sure if I could even use it on a truly realistic layout. I'll have to dig out the HO stuff, but I think its all Life Like brand.

I'd like to recreate part of the town where I live but don't know where to begin.

I'm a complete newb, so bear with me.

Well, lets start by seeing what exactly you'd like to model.

Oh, and welcome to the forum.

To help with the above, read my beginner's guide which you can click to from my signature. It will take you 5 minutes and put you on the right track--so to speak.

Welcome aboard. It's pretty normal not to know exactly what you want when you're just starting out. Read Chip's beginner's giude and then let us know how much space you have to work with, about what era you want to model (modern, steam to diesel transition, or all steam), and what part of the country and what railroads you want to model. That will give us a start for suggestions.

Great pages Chip. The lines me and my dad are into are the Virginian and the Norfolk & Western. I would like to recreate Mullens, WV (where we live). It was established mostly by the railroad and was home to a large diesel and electric shop. And right up the road was the Steam engine repair shop. Go to this link and scroll about halfway down the page and find the pictures of the shop in Mullens. http://vgnry43.googlepages.com/modelrailroadofaubreywileyThis would definately be included in the layout. The era would be 1950s-1970s. I'll try to find some more pictures to give you more ideas.

To start, what brand/type of track do most use? And what are good brands of trains in HO scale?

Last edited by a moderator:
I personally use atlas Code 83. It's a good medium grade track that is excellent to work with.