North Coast Limited

montanan

Whiskey Merchant
This was posted on the old forum.

When I was growing up, our family took regular trips on the North Coast Limited. Traveling by train back in the 50's and 60's was nothing like it is today. Rail travel was fantastic. I had picked up an Athearn Geinis F-7A years ago when it first came out and had picking up Walthers passenger cars painted in the Lowey paint scheme whenever I could find one at a reasonable price.

I had been on the lookout to try to get another A unit and a B unit but everything I found was DCC (I am a DC operator) and quite expensive. I stumbled on a Stewart F-3A in the Lowey paint scheme as well as an F-7B on ebay for $36. When they arrived, the Northern Pacific green, both light and dark were completely wrong. Also the units were not numbered. Time to get out the air brush. I was able to locate the proper NCL colors from Tru-Color. Being that the units were not numbered, a complete repaint was in order as well as adding some proper details.

thumbnail_IMAG1239.jpg

The dual horns that came with the unit were removed so the proper 5 chime horn that the NP used could be added and a winterization hatch added.
GetAttachmentThumbnail.jpg
After the unit was repainted with the proper colors, decals started being applied.

thumbnail_IMAG1256.jpg

The proper road numbers were applied and the handrails were then installed.
20171015_110525.jpg

The B unit was next. Also the wrong color and the stainless steel grills along the upper part of the body were painted the same color as the body and a winterization hatch and steam generator details were added.

20171112_155550.jpg

Getting close now. I still don't have all of the detail parts as they have been on back order for months now. I need the proper spark arrestors and the firecracker antenna and then MU hoses can be added to complete the locomotives.

20171118_140633.jpg

20171118_142547.jpg

It's not perfect, but for my old eyes, it will work.