Noob with an Inglehook

skpsharma

Hey Everyone,
I am a resident of Canterbury, UK (soon moving to Ashford) and a current noob in this hobby. I have never had a layout, I had never even touched a model railway loco for that matter. But have been a railfan since I was a kid. I have long wanted to build my own model railway in OO and begin with a shelf layout. I have been binging YT videos of both American and British model railroaders for several months and getting a clear picture of what I need.

I visited the Faversham Model Rail Show on 9th, with absolutely no preparation but for dreamy, glossed-up eyes. I went there with no plan about what I need to discuss with experts and advanced practitioners of this great hobby, neither did I plan what I would purchase, if I did decide to.
Anyway, long story short, I came out with 4 wagons, and a Hornby GWR 0-6-0 PT 2721 '2764' as well as enough track from Steve & Dave for an Inglenook. Inglenook because I just threw the word out of my mouth whenever any exhibitor there asked me what layout I'd want to build. Photos of the plan for the future layout follow. The layout will be earnestly started after my move to Ashford this 30th. I would be very grateful to members if they can give me ideas for the scenery and other bits to make it a beautiful layout. From the tape measure it looks to be about 4'x1' plan.

Thanks for looking,
Kind regards,
Sathya.

Attachments

• GWR060PTClass2721-2764 (1 of 3).jpg
    GWR060PTClass2721-2764 (1 of 3).jpg
    745.3 KB · Views: 53
  • IMG_20230914_105210.jpg
    IMG_20230914_105210.jpg
    287.9 KB · Views: 52
  • IMG_20230914_105319.jpg
    IMG_20230914_105319.jpg
    296.5 KB · Views: 51
Hey Everyone,