New HO Switching Layout

Odie-r

Hi All,

Newbie here.

Had a small HO circle table (4'x4') back when I was a kid and my interest was reignited recently. Since money and time now dictates I can have a little fun, I began construction of a 2' x 8' HO switching layout in November. I figured this way if my interest waned I wouldn't have got in over my head. I had very little experience with anything but DC. I did all my research and bought an NCE Powercab. Its been a simple delight to add new levels to model railroading like sound!

My 'prototype' is a small CN yard based in Saskatchewan. I took my inspiration from Symington yard in Winnipeg (albeit a MUCH smaller setup). I drew inspiration from a couple pics I saw of the hump there. I've posted a pic below. The track design I used is easily incorporated into a longer point-to-point layout should the bug ever strike me to grow it.

I have two industries, and a team track currently unfinished. The first industry (and largest) is based on the Canpotex Rail Car Maintenance Facility just outside Winnipeg. I have a good friend who runs a business 3D printing parts for other industries, and he fancied a challenge so he is currently creating the building for me. Its custom to fit my setup and is a slightly compressed version of the real thing. The real operation has 15,000m of trackage, and I've got enough space for 12 cars max - but hey, do what you can! Its currently represented by a cardboard box covered in painters' tape.

The second industry is an Ethanol and LPG distributor. I'm in the process of building the unloading racks now and used a Walthers kit that came fairly close to the prototype I viewed locally at a small chemical company where I live.

The team track will be rotated with box car, wood load, and flat car traffic as switch list dictates. I've taken a keen interest in the actual operations and am currently creating a card system to really add some realism.