Mini LED's novice

santafewillie

Same Ol' Buzzard
Despite being into model railroading for 35 years now, I have never worked wit mini LED's before. I bought some Minitronics brand ones several years ago that I just haven't gotten around to installing. What I do know, is they're +/- sensitive, but beyond that I know next to nothing. I am assuming that the red leas is the - lead Here's a picture of one of them with the supplied resistor for using with 6V power source.
01-05-20 002.001.JPG

I have two questions.
1) Does it matter which direction the resistor is connected? Their very brief description (no instructions) indicates that it is a 33r resistor.
2) Can a single resistor be put in line with two LED's or should I use separate ones for each?
Thanks in advance.

I'm in pretty much the same boat, Willie. So, I''l be watching for any and all guidance. Hopefully, we'll have someone on here who will take the time to post a basic tutorial. I know this info can be found on the internet, but maybe we could get the basics explained and have it all in one easy to read place.

it doesn't matter which way the resistor goes in, and you should run seperate resistors for more than one LED

In DC wiring red is always positive and black is always negative. If you wire it the other way you are asking for trouble.

Resistors have no polarity and can go on either wire.

You don't have to run separate resistors for each LED unless you are powering so many that it will pull too much amperage through the resistor, in which case you have a different problem.

The important thing to know is what value resistor to use. That is indeed a 33 ohm resistor (you can read the color bands. There is also a rude little ditty to help you remember the order the colors go in that I won't repeat here.)

If you are going to run that on 6 volts then 33 ohms might be a little low, but it depends on the LED a bit. The LEDs I just put in my loco with DCC needed a 680 ohm resistor, but that's for 12 volts.