LZV100 and Android

Hutch

I'm considering getting the LZV100 if I can run it with my Android but I can't find any instructions on how to accomplish it. If I have to buy the set with the throttle it's beyond what I can spend right now but I like the system and I'd like this to be the foundation of my new layout/first layout. I am a newbie with an electronics background.

bloody hell... an android controlled layout? I'm totally subscribing to this thread. Been an android man since 2010. Can't beat it.

I assume when you say "my Android" you're talking about a mobile phone or tablet running the Android OS? For this you'll want to get JMRI up and running. Well, technically speaking DecoderPro & PanelPro combined is the software suite, JMRI is the Java-based framework that it all runs on.

Before all that though, yes you would need to buy a throttle with the LZV100. A better question is "do I need an LZV100?", the answer to which is a resounding no. I have zero experience with Lenz systems, but judging by the specs and pricing this product is what we call a booster. Most starter DCC systems supply about 2amps, which is enough juice to run a handful of trains with ease. When 2amps doesn't cut it anymore, you add a booster to your layout (generally they're 5amps). The existing throttle will generally still plug into them, just the old 2amp power supply is bypassed. Basically unless you plan on running ops sessions with 10 buddies on day 1 you don't need 5amps. :)

Lenz isn't really all that popular on these boards to be honest, most people use either Digitrax or NCE. Both are very good and a decent starter system can be had for roughly $150. From NCE you're after the PowerCab (not PowerPro, that's a booster), not too sure about the Digitrax equivalent. Lenz is also not too well supported with JMRI unless you have that booster you mentioned.