Kadee Coupler Confusion

CoolRuehle

I am new to the Kadee coupler scene and need some guidance from the vetruns!!

So far, I have purchased the following:

Qty 6 Walthers coke cars (coal, not the beverage)
Qty 6 Walthers Hot Metal cars
Qty 6 Walthers Slag cars

A few of the hot metal and slag cars came with Kadee couplers, others came with the horny couplers. Some of the coke cars came with a Kadee-looking coupler, but the knuckles are molded into the closed position, and cannot be opened.

The Kadee couplers supplied looked like this:

http://www.kadee.com/html/148.jpg

I went to the Kadee website and was overwhelmed :eek: at the selection and types available!

Most likely I will be purchasing a few gons, a few flats, and a string of ore cars in the future, which I am sure will be from Walthers or Athern.

Can anyone make a suggestion on which type of Kadee coupler to use with this array of rolling stock? Should I just stick with the coupler shown above?

Thanks!

--Jon

Kadee has a good convesion chart on their website to answer your question.
Go to their site Kadee.com. Then on the top click on conversion, and then HO conversion list to find the right coupler/s you need. They also have a selection for HO conversion that gives a diagram on proper installation.
Good Luck

I am new to the Kadee coupler scene and need some guidance from the vetruns!!
A few of the hot metal and slag cars came with Kadee couplers, others came with the horny couplers. Some of the coke cars came with a Kadee-looking coupler, but the knuckles are molded into the closed position, and cannot be opened.
--Jon