How to install Seuthe # 99 in Blueline Up Big boy? Can someone help me?

ModelRailroadForums.com is a free Model Railroad Discussion Forum and photo gallery. We cover all scales and sizes of model railroads. Whether you're a master model railroader or just getting started, you'll find something of interest here.

san123

Hi all,

I am a HO scale train modeler. I have purchsed BLI UP big boy & also have 2 nos Seuthe # 99 smoke units. Can someone tell me the procedure of instaling it in Big Boy?

As from some information , it needs just connect two wires of smoke unit to acess rail current. But my queries starts there itself :

1) How to dismental the body of Big boy to do this work ?

2) My DC transformer delivers 1.5->12V DC supply @ 1000mA current rating. If, I have to add any resistor in series to reduce current value?

3) Actually how to connect the smoke units to rail power ?If anyone has some document specifing the steps of doing this ? If yes, I will be the happiest person to request for me.

Sanjeev

san123

Thanks for watching... Sorry for double posting...

Thanks for looking, posting second time was a mistake. Sorry, if someone felt bad about it.
I will be happy if I get some answer to it pleasse.

UP2CSX

Fleeing from Al
The Seuthe # 99 smoke unit operates at 8 to 14 volts so your DC powerpack track voltage should be fine. I would e-mail BLI and ask for specific instructions and cautions before installing this smoke unit in a Big Boy. Those smoke units get really hot and just sticking one in the smoke stack can damage the engine. BLI has used this same smoke units in other engines that were specially made to take it so I'm sure they are familiar with it and know if it can be safely installed in your Big Boy.

san123

Thanks Jim.

Thanks Jim. I will be very happy if you can get that information.