How much current does a set of NJ International Crossbucks draw? [was "Who makes flasher circuits..."]

IronBeltKen

Lazy Daydreamer
I've done half a dozen google searches and been unable to find what I really need: A simple alternating flasher circuit board where I can plug in two NJ International #1193 single-lane "gantry" crossbuck flashers like the one pictured below:

NJ_Intl_GantryCrossbuck.jpg

I don't know if having double the number of LEDs will exceed the capacity of a regular flasher controller.

I've already decided on a detection circuit, but it does not include the flasher control board. The so-called "FlashMaster" that NJI has on their website includes a complicated detection system that I don't want to use. I am NOT an electrical engineer, I don't want schematics; I just want something with clear instructions on where to connect to the power source, and where to connect the LEDs.

Can anybody recommend a simple flasher board from a U.S.-based vendor that will work with NJI crossbucks?

Last edited:
I also endorse Ciruitron and I used their flasher unit for my crossing. Be sure to use resistors if you are using LED's at 12 volts.

Greg

KeN in Maryland: Don't forget that you will likely need a detection circuit to activate the flasher circuit. Then, there is the addition of a bell ringer circuit and a speaker.

Greg

KeN in Maryland: Don't forget that you will likely need a detection circuit to activate the flasher circuit. Then, there is the addition of a bell ringer circuit and a speaker.

Greg
Thanks, I've got the detection thing covered too, Greg! And I can live without the bell ringer sound (I've always found them obnoxious in real life because they drown out the sound of the approaching train)

OK, I have the flasher circuit - now I have a new question: I need to know if gantry-type crossbucks - with double the number of LEDs - will overload the flasher board I purchased.