HO New River Mining Kit

ianacole

I searched and didn't find anything addressing the specific question I have. I've built the main structure, and as normal, I started playing... setting a track underneath the coal chutes and running a car underneath.

The first car at my disposal was a Roundhouse caboose, and it couldn't clear the chutes. This leads me to believe that a locomotive (GP35) wouldn't fit under either. Should this run in a pass through configuration, or should it be set up to back coal cars underneath? Should I begin looking at ways at elevating the structure above the track enough to pass a loco underneath?

Granted, I was using 30 year old track that is stupid tall - I am going to be using code 83 on my layout...will this make any significant difference?

Thanks!

Ian

I built the New River Mine back in 2006 and had no trouble at all, fitting locos or hoppers underneath. Code 83.

slide176.jpg

Some of my structures I had to place on roadbed like my track. Some structures were not built with roadbed in mind so I had to place them on a "roadbed foundation" to bring everything to proper height. Hope this is some help!

Thanks Bob and Ken. I'll throw some code 83 underneath and see how that fares, otherwise I'll look at providing some elevation ... perhaps some concrete shoring would look okay.

You could make some concrete looking footings to elevate the mine. Work some ballast and spilled coal up against them and they would virtually disappear anyway.

If you look at most buildings in the real world, the land they sit on will almost always be level, and raise above the surrounding ground slightly for drainage.

On the work I've done on my layout, any trackside industry will be on the same or slightly higher level than the spurs/sidings and surrounding ground. That way, I don't have to worry about say hi-cubes fitting under awnings and such.