Getting Started--how?

mattm

We're rapidly moving along moving into a new house. I've been a pretty serious hobby woodworker for the last 14 years and am giving up that hobby since we moved from 10 acres with large pole barn to 1/3 with a shed. Doing remodeling has been a hobby over the years too, but this house we've paid a contractor to come in and make it ours so all but minor projects will likely be wrapped up this week so I need to start thinking about a hobby other than sitting in front of the computer or TV all evening.

I dabbled in model railroading when I was a teen so I know a little but not much other than that at least the "make" side of the hobby is attractive to me. I'm wondering the best way to get started? I have some fairly significant seed money to get started with, but don't want to jump in and just spend that with no plan. I've got a roughly half of a 21' by 21' area of clean, dry basement we plan to dedicate to hobbies and I can probably lay claim to at least half that.

I'm thinking HO as that's what I was familiar with before. Should I consider another scale?

Should I plan a layout and start building? Or build some kits and collect some rolling stock and locomotives first?

I would say come up with a plan first. There are a ton of good books and magazines that can give you ideas on how to proceed. A well thought out plan can help you prevent spending money twice. A plan is also more than just where the track will go. It can and should include an idea of what the railroad will be doing, and where and when it will be doing it....

I just rejoined our local club after a 25 year hiatus, so anything I build at home will be very small. My best advice would be to start on the smaller side, but have a plan for expansion when you decide the time is right.....

Welcome to the forum, glad to have you onboard!