Do You tend to hold off;

Larry

Long Winded Old Fart
Buying anything or making a decision to do large improvements on your layout when the Recession is going downhill?
I had to make a decision about 2 months ago to not add the new large section to my layout because I'm on Social security & not knowing if the Recession was going to have a big effect on my finances. So, I decided to work on projects that I've been procrastinating on for the last 3 years. These projects don't require hardly any money to finish.
What are your Thoughts?;)

If anything I've gone the other way! After deciding to get back into the hobby recently with my brother, we each went out and spent about $600 on a train, power cab, some rolling stock, track and a few other bits & bobs. This was right after tax time though, so we had both just gotten about a grand back from our tax returns. Since then I've bought another Dash-8 to go with my original and ordered a set of three F45s. :eek: Because the AU$ is so strong compared to the US$ right now, I can order trains online for less than I would pay locally (even after the extreme postage costs), plus I get the bonus of a massive range to choose from.

I have everything I need & have enough projects for a few years. That being said, I couldn't pass up a mint HO Spectrum 4-8-2 for $25 and a mint Lionel Freedom Train 4-8-4 for $15 at a show last weekend. In fact I am clearing out many items that I will probably never use.

With the wife out of work for over a year I have scaled back spending. Not stopped it, but I'm more careful these days. Fortunately I have plenty of projects to work on, so it really hasn't effected my enjoyment of the hobby.