Decoders and GOW bulbs

meanjean

The decoder I bought says this.

Function output ratings: Due to the high in-rush current of incandescent grain-of-wheattype bulbs (about 10 times their normal operating current) function outputs are rated at40mA each if used with incandescent bulbs. We recommend the Miniatronics part number mentioned above. If you wish to use 50-100mA rated lamps we recommend a22 ohm 1/4 Watt series resistor in function leads with each bulb (this will also greatly extend bulb life).

I have bulbs that are 30mA, do I need a resistor since I am using bulbs that require 10 less mA then what the outpus are rated for? I would think if I was using smaller mA bulbs I would need to use them? They make it sound if you use larger bulbs you need resistors?

Thoughts

Chad, I'm no electrical expert, but the concept of an "in-rush of current" into a resistance type device like a bulb makes no sense to me. You get a big jump in current requirements for starting a capacitance device like a motor but not a bulb. There is an almost instantaneous increase in voltage to heat the filament but that shouldn't be an issue in terms of limiting current or voltage. Assuming the 30mA bulb has exactly the same voltage as the output from the decoder, you shouldn't need a resistor. You might want a reistor to drop the voltage by maybe 20% so the bulb does last longer without a noticeable decrease in brightness but you don't need a resistor to run the bulb.

The bulbs I have are Mitey Lites 1.4mm 1.5 volt, 30 ma.
I will have to look and see how many volts the decoder is rated for.

I never thought in a hundred years model railroading would ever be this high tech and complicated!!
Who knew?

"in-rush of current"
All this is , is the surge current when turned on. While the lamp filament is cold, the resistance of the filament is low (less opposition to the current flow) as the filament heats the resistance increases and the current then decreases to it's nominal value.