DCC and perhaps sound in an MP15DC HO Switcher.

northman

The pride of my loco fleet my Atlas Silver Series BN HO MP15DC switcher. I have never ran it on DC and only taken it out of the box for display only, as I do not yet have a layout, but I'm getting impatient. I thought it was time to consider a installing my first DCC decoder into it, and I understand an NCE D14SR will do the job nicely. I also understand that this is a "plug and play" decoder.

Now.... I am seriously considering a Sound decoder and I have done a little research on this area but it is a new feature for me and I have had no experience with sound, although I did hear a HO loco several months ago and it did sound absolutely amazingly realistic.

The brands I am looking at are Soundtraxx (Tsunami) and QSI. My questions are:

1. Are the sounds pre-loaded? I'd prefer minimal external programming.

2. I assume all the standard DCC CV's/functions still operate in the same manner as a non-sound decoder?

3, I would also like to hear from any owners of a HO MP15DC who has a sound decoder fitted, what type of decoder do you use, and your opinions on how it sounds.

It will be a big leap to go down the sound path so I wish to do my homework thoroughly, because I have another three locos I wish to fit sound if this is successful.

Yours in MRR,
Steve.

Last edited by a moderator:
I have a pair of MP15AC switch engines with sound (factory MRC) and like them. The sound is very good. If I had a choice between QSI and Soundtraxx, I would go with Soundtraxx. The motor control seems a bit better with the QSI, but not by much, and several of the peripheral sounds are better (horn, bell), but the Soundtraxx sound of the prime mover is much closer to what you would hear if you stood next to a loco. The QSI prime mover sound is more of a generic "whirring" sound.

It's not easy installing a sound decoder in the Athearn RTRs and Atlas.. You need to know what you're doing. I tried it and ended up frying a decoder.