Air brush question

jomazz

I'm new to to all of this crafts stuff, although I did have an ho layout about 35 yrs. ago. Anyway, I'd like to get an air brush to do some minor painting of scenery & parts but, I have no idea about what to get. Is there something anyone can suggest. I have a compressor that I use for tires & such. Is there something I can get at a reasonable price that I can hook up to my compressor or, do I need a specific set up for it? I really don't want to spend too much. You folks seem to know a whole lot more than I do about this sickness I'm about to indulge in so, I thought I'd ask for some help.:confused:

Make sure you have the usual trio (filter, regulator and drier) installed. I use a moisture trap to keep condensate out of the airbrush.

First, here's a great thread on using different kinds of compressors:

http://www.modelrailroadforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7186&highlight=airbrushes

Second, here's a good thread talking about different types of airbrushes:

http://www.modelrailroadforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5562&highlight=airbrushes

I'm no expert on airbrushes or compressors but a lot of the guys who posted to these two threads are.

This is what I use for the airbrushes. The airlilne from the shop compressor plugs into the manifold. The manifold has a regulator, a drier, and the quick connect couplers for the airbrushes.

MVC-398F.jpg

Rotor

OK, now I misunderstand. Seriously, I've seen some of the inexpensive kits that come with a can of air. Are these any good & if so what should I look for? I'm already getting the feeling that I should start with brushes & spray cans. Thanks for the help everyone.

jo-

You're on the right track - don't feel overwhelmed by the world of airbrushes.