Adjusting Coupler Height?

n1vets333

I am new to N scale. I am really an O gauge guy but decided to try my hand at N. Anyhow, I converted a bunch of my rapido couplers to micro trains coplers. The kind that come pre-assembled attatched to the trucks. Anyway, I recently purchsed a new bachman engine (ns gp-9). The new engine comes with the claw shaped couplers not rapido. They attach to the micro trains couplers fine but when I go around certain curves I notice the engines coupler moves higher than the freights and they become un-coupled. I figured if I could shim it somehow to adjust the height, this might work. What would I use to shim them or is there another way o adjust coupler height? Is this a common problem in Nscale? If I buy all the same brand will I not have this problem?

I don't think it's the coupler. If it moves higher on certain curves, that means the track is bad. You either have humps & bumps in the rail or roadbed.
The same thing could happen on straigtaways if the track isn't flat.
You need a coupler heighth gauge. Mine is Atlas. Your's would probably come from the coupler manufacturer of the trucks. I have HO.

Larry

If thats the case then why is it only certain cars that uncouple. Most of the rolling stock I don't have a problem with.

I'd pick up a height gauge, sounds like they might be mismatched a little. Also if there is a lot of play it can cause problems. MT makes a height gage, or you could pick up a starter set and get a variety of spare couplers for when you add rolling stock. Handy little pack. Also try to keep the bumps down as Larry pointed out. N isn't as forgiving as HO.

I have a real handy flat car made out of clear plexiglass that I use quite often to find problems. You can buy 1, but, I made my own. I made it the same width as a flat car. You could even attach a pair of couplers set at the right heighth. Just an idea.

Larry