A few more questions

kylewoody

Hey guys,

I'm still getting into this hobby - and loaded with questions! :eek:

One being, I have changed to the Southern Railway as my N scale layout... modelling the late '40's to early '50's so I can run some steam and diesel.

How do I know what lines they had back then? I have got a few good books today on the Southern at the museum, but was wondering - can I just look on Yellowpages maps, or Googleearth and assume that anything Norfolk Southern owns (the resultant merger) would have been their line in my timeframe?

I really want to model somewhere in middle Alabama... perhaps around Birmingham, anywhere down to about the Montgomery area (northside being Pratville, soutside being around the general area of Evergreen, even over to Andalusia).

Thanks!
Kyle

Hey guys,

I'm still getting into this hobby - and loaded with questions! :eek:

One being, I have changed to the Southern Railway as my N scale layout... modelling the late '40's to early '50's so I can run some steam and diesel.

How do I know what lines they had back then? I have got a few good books today on the Southern at the museum, but was wondering - can I just look on Yellowpages maps, or Googleearth and assume that anything Norfolk Southern owns (the resultant merger) would have been their line in my timeframe?

I really want to model somewhere in middle Alabama... perhaps around Birmingham, anywhere down to about the Montgomery area (northside being Pratville, soutside being around the general area of Evergreen, even over to Andalusia).

Thanks!
Kyle

"Good choice there, Kyle!", he smilingly sez as he points to his avatar!:D:D

Jim posted these in an earlier thread, but are worthy of repeating.

http://southern.railfan.net/paper/sr_paper.html

and of course the home site of the above:

http://southern.railfan.net/

Last edited by a moderator:
Kyle,