Search results

1. N

framming a bench like a wall instead of a table

As an old marine carpenter I must advise you to keep the table frame and cross pieces in the vertical attitude. You should also eye down the edge of the piece and determine where the crown of the board is. All boards have a crown. Look along the edge and you'll see a slight curve in the board...
  2. N

Bonita Grand Central

I hear ya Louis. I don't think I ever met a train person that I didn't like and these forums are a lot of fun. My layout is out in my shed for now and I had it running pretty well but then decided to empty out my storage unit to save the money. It's too hot out there anyway,92 today and doesn't...
  3. N

Bonita Grand Central

Thank you Louis for the welcome. I've been trying to empty out my rented storage unit to save the rent money and have stuff piled on my train table for now. It'll be awhile before I get back to the trains I think. Pete
  4. N

Your other interests...

Ha! WE lose more seats that way. That patrolman is a good example of why everybody doesn't get to fly a helicopter. I was lucky because I had been to the Ft. Rucker mechanics school and pretty much knew how and why they fly. That helps a lot. My pilot friends where always after me to go to...
  5. N

Your other interests...

Helicopters are tricky but it's just because the wings are in a different place. Left and right and up and down are about the same but it's the forward and back that confuses most people. The big difference between the rotary wing and the fixed wing is that helicopter pilots don't carry a...
  6. N

Your other interests...

Bet it was exciting though. We had those little Bell 47 choppers in my Guard unit back in the 60's. I was a chopper mechanic but with two choppers and 200 mechanics in the battalion there was often nothing to do. So I ended up a cook which I loved and had a lot of time off. I often went flying...
  7. N

Your other interests...